The Church year, is also known as the liturgical year or Christian year, and consists of the cycle of seasons in Christian churches that determines when feast days, including celebrations of saints, are to be observed, and which portions of Scripture are to be read either in an annual cycle or in a cycle of several years.

Distinct liturgical colours can be seen in connection with different seasons of the liturgical year.

At St. John’s, we usually follow the 3 year cycle of the revised common lectionary, which is rich in scripture readings and lessons from many books in both the old and new testaments of the Bible. The calendar, and readings for the cycle can be found here: